The Ultimate Guide to the Asian Games

Visit our Asian Games 2018 Microsite

History: The Beginnings

Organised by the Olympic Council of Asia, the Asian Games are among the biggest multi-sport games, second only to the Olympic Games.

While its program largely mirrors that of the Olympics, the Asian Games add a distinctively Asian flavour with additions such as sepaktakraw (Southeast Asia) reflecting the richly diverse culture of this region.

The first edition of the Games was held in New Delhi, India, in 1951, which saw 489 athletes from 11 countries competing in 6 sports.

Since then, a total of 17 editions have been staged, with the most recent held in Incheon, Korea, in 2014, which saw 3,678 female and 5,823 male athletes from 45 countries competing in 51 sports, a remarkable jump in scale from its early days.

History: Sailing at the Asian Games

Sailing was first featured as a sport at the 6th Asian Games held in Bangkok, Thailand, in 1970.

It was not part of the program at the next edition of the Games, which took place in Tehran, Iran, in 1974, which would go on to be the only exception.

In 1978, sailing was re-entered and has been included in all subsequent editions of the Games, with yachting offered at some.


You might also be interested in “The Ultimate Guide to Sailing at the Asian Games 2018” – Learn More

Singapore: Our Presence

Singapore is among the 11 countries that competed in the inaugural Asian Games in New Delhi, India, in 1951, and has participated in every edition ever since.

We are proud to present our Asian Games medallists in yachting/sailing:

Medallist Sport Event Medal Year
David Low

James Tham

Yachting Fireball Class Team Silver 1970
Yeo See Teck Yachting Moth Class Silver 1970
Tan Swee Hung Yachting OK Class (41.1) Bronze 1978
Tan Kok Wah

Liem Keng

Loei Lewis

Yachting Fireball Class (31.7) Bronze 1978
Benedict Tan Sailing International Laser Class (17.4pts) Gold 1994
Siew Shaw Her

Charles Lim

Sailing International 470 Class (17.7pts) Silver 1994
Siew Shaw Her

Colin Ng Wee Tai

Sailing International 420 (Men) Gold 1998
Joan Huang Shiqi

Naomi Tan Ai Ming

Sailing International 420 (Women) Gold 1998
Anthony Kiong Lye Ming Sailing International OK (Open) Silver 1998
Charles Lim Yi Yong

Tan Wearn Haw

Sailing International 470 (Men) Bronze 1998
Roy Tay Jun Hao Sailing International Optimist (Boys) Bronze 1998
Tracey Tan Sailing International Europe Bronze 1998
Teo Wee Chin Sailing Optimist Boys Bronze 2002
Sarah Tan Wei Lin Sailing Optimist Girls Bronze 2002
Joan Huang Shiqi

Toh Liying

Sailing 420 Women Bronze 2002
Tan Wearn Haw

Chung Pei Ming

Sailing 470 Men Bronze 2002
Liu Xiaman Justin

Cheng Feng Yuan Sherman

Sailing 420 Men Gold 2006
Soh Khyan Tat Maximilian Sailing Laser Men Gold 2006
Tan Wei Lin Sarah

Lim Tze Ting

Sailing 420 Women Gold 2006
Cheng Xin Ru Colin Sailing Laser 4.7 Open Gold 2006
Tan Hsiao Loong Ivan

Wong Ming Ho Justin

Tay Renfred

Teo Wee Chin

Tay Jun Hao Roy

Sailing Keelboat Match-Racing Beneteau 7.5 Open Gold 2006
Xu Yuan Zhen

Terence Koh

Sailing 470 Men Silver 2006
Toh Li Ying

Elizabeth Tan Li Yong

Sailing 470 Women Silver 2006
Koh Seng Leong Sailing Laser Radial Open Silver 2006
Sean Lee Teik Ren Sailing Optimist Boys Bronze 2006
Chung Pei Quan

Melcolm Huang Jingjie

Sailing Hobie 16 – Open Bronze 2006
Justin Liu Xiaman

Sherman Cheng Feng Yuan

Sailing 420 Men Gold 2010
Rachel Lee Qing

Cecilia Low Rui Qi

Sailing 420 Women Gold 2010
Colin Cheng Xinru Sailing Men’s Laser Silver 2010
Kimberly Lim Min Sailing Optimist Girls Silver 2010
Dawn Liu Xiaodan

Tam Shiu Wan Siobhan

Sailing 470 Women Bronze 2010
Ryan Lo Jun Han Sailing Optimist Boys Bronze 2010
Teo Wee Chin

Wong Ming Ho Justin

Sailing Hobie 16 – Open Bronze 2010
Scott Glen Sydney Sailing Laser Radial Open Bronze 2010
Jodie Lai Sailing Optimist Women’s One Person Dinghy Gold 2014
Kimberly Lim

Savannah Siew

Sailing 420 Women’s Two Person Dinghy Gold 2014
Maximilian Soh

Justin Wong

Andrew Paul Chan

Russell Kan

Christopher Lim

Sailing J80 Keelboat Match Racing Gold 2014
Priscilla Low

Cecilia Low

Sailing 29er Women’s Two Person Dinghy Silver 2014
Raynn Kwok Sailing Optimist Men’s One Person Dinghy Silver 2014
Colin Cheng Sailing Laser Men’s One Person Dinghy Bronze 2014
Low Jiayi

Jonathan Yeo

Sailing 420 Men’s Two Person Dinghy Bronze 2014

A Glimpse into the Future: What Lies Ahead?


The next edition of the Asian Games will be held in Jakarta, Indonesia, from 18 Aug to 2 Sep 2018, which will see 45 nations compete.