Ng Ser Miang inducted into Singapore Sport Hall of Fame

Article Date: 2024/02/09

Ng Ser Miang (front row, extreme right) was inducted into the Hall of Fame by President Tharman Shanmugaratnam) at the Istana.  Front row (left to right): Syed Kadir, Joscelin Yeo, Grace Fu (SNOC President), President Tharman Shanmugaratnam, Minister Edwin Tong (MCCY), Kenneth Kee, Ng Ser Miang. Back row (L-R): Dr Teo-Koh Sock Miang, Yu Mengyu, Jessie Phua, Prof Tan Say Beng (son of the late Dr Tan Eng Liang). (Photo: Sport Singapore)

Mr Ng Ser Miang was inducted into the Singapore Sport Hall of Fame by President Tharman Shanmugaratnam at the Istana on Monday, 6 February 2024. Mr Ng, who is also the International Olympic Committee Vice-President, was inducted in the new Sports Leader category which recognises “outstanding achievements in roles within the sporting ecosystem” and “strong and sustained contribution to the achievements of Singapore athletes and/or to the development of sports in Singapore and internationally”


Speaking to reporters at the Istana, Mr Ng, who is also the patron of the Singapore Sailing Federation (SSF), said, “There are many things sports leaders do to support athletes, from setting strategies and policies to mobilising and utilising different resources to develop athletes and help them train and compete.”

“One of the things which I always believe in is to encourage more Singaporeans, the athletes, to take up roles that can support athletes to help build national federations. And for those who have the resources to be involved in international sports organisations,” Mr Ng added.

Mr Ng Ser Miang receiving his Hall of Fame award from President Tharman. (Photo: SportSG)

Mr Ng advocates that all Singaporean children get the chance to sail at least once in their lifetime as we are an island nation. He served as the SSF President from 1989-1991.

Four other sport leaders were inducted alongside Mr Ng. They were

  1. The late Dr Tan Eng Liang (Former national water polo player and Vice President of Singapore National Olympic Council)
  2. Ms Jessie Phua (Former Singapore Bowling Federation President)
  3. Dr Teo-Koh Sock Miang (President, Singapore National Paralympic Council President)
  4. Mr Kenneth Kee (Former National water polo player/coach)

Three Olympians were also inducted into the Sport Hall of Fame. They were

  1. Mr Syed Kadir (Boxing)
  2. Ms Yu Mengyu (Table Tennis)
  3. Ms Josceline Yeo (Swimming)

Mr Ng Ser Miang was joined at the Istana by (left to right) Dr Ben Tan (ExCo Honorary Advisor), Dr Lincoln Chee (ExCo President), and Siew Shaw Her (former Olympic sailor). (Photo: SportSG and SingaporeSailing)

For mainstream media coverage of the Singapore Sport Hall of Fame induction, please visit: