National Sailing Centre, Saturday, 17 March 2018 — Light winds in the early afternoon meant that racing was delayed on day 4 of the Singapore Youth Sailing Championship 2018–which is also the last day–with sailors kept waiting on shore till the afternoon breeze filled in.

Having completed fewer than 10 races prior to the last day of racing, no medal races were scheduled for the the Optimist and they proceeded with their Final Series. Thailand’s Jedtavee Yongyuennarn continued to display his sailing prowess in the Optimist Gold Fleet, posting a seventh and a second. His consistent showing over the past four days put him a remarkable 20 point ahead of runner-up Germany’s Anna Barth, who pipped Singapore’s Dylan Fang to the silver. Dylan had to settle for bronze.

As they each had fewer than 20 entries in their fleets, the Techno, Nacra 15 and 29er classes finished the regatta with their Final Race.

Alexander Lim continued his top form with yet another bullet to walk home with the gold in the Techno windsurfing class. Fellow Youth Olympic Games representative Marsha Shahrin came in second, with Cara Loo finishing in third place.

Meanwhile, Australian Nacra 15 pair Ashleigh Swadling and Jai Tooley won the final race to tie with Singaporean duo Issac Tang and Evangeline Tan, though the latter ultimately emerged as champions by virtue of having accumulated more first place finishes.

The 29er fleet saw the only female Singaporean pair Tessa Neo and Ellyn Tan beat the boys to clinch the gold. They were ten points ahead of Ron Koh and Winston Yeo, and 11 ahead of Ethan Neo and Collin Tan.

Due to the shifty conditions in the late afternoon, which had race officials and volunteers constantly having to alter the course, only one Medal Race was held for the Bytes.

Going into the Medal Race, Dylan Ng was in the lead, though his narrow two-point lead meant that runner-up Raynn Kwok could snag the gold if the latter were to finish ahead.

At the final mark rounding, many sailors were left confused with the direction of the rounding, resulting in only three boats completing the course, while the rest were given the black flag by the jury. In the end, Raynn crossed the line ahead of Dylan to take home the gold.

Results for both the Laser 4.7s and Laser Radials remained unchanged from the previous day with Daniel Hung and Jillian Lee topping the two fleets respectively.

The final day of racing wrapped up with the prize-giving ceremony (prizes were sponsored by Polar Singapore and Gaastra) and a party that saw everyone gather in the hangar of the National Sailing Centre. Sailors, parents, coaches and  volunteers feasted on a sumptuous spread, that included sustainably-sourced seafood, put together with the help of Responsible Seafood.

View the full results here!

©2016 Singapore Sailing Federation
Follow us: